How do you get a character to die when they touch an object

i’m not that good at coding but i try

You’ll have A LOT of options! I’ll try to list as many as a I could… but just swap the word, input1 with the name of the player, and input2 with the thing that’ll kill the player.

• Use the .remove function (which I won’t recommend since it just makes the character disappear). Plug this code into the update script of any object:

if(input1.hitTest(input2)){
input1.remove();
}

-If u don’t have a lot of frames in the player, you could have him/her play the frames, and then onto the next frame, you could animate how you’d like the player to die (ex: jump out of the screen, fade away, zoom in or out until gone, gets eaten by a monster, etc.), and remember, instead of just playing the frames, you could use the gotoAndPlay(/frameNumber/) function to make the player go to the exact frame that ur animation would start. Here’s how it could go coding wise:

input1.play();
}

Have the player disappear slowly (fade away) by using the following code:

onEvent(‘update’, function () {
input1.opacity-=.03;
});
}

Or just move the whole timeline of the actual project

gotoNextFrame();
}

Let me know if that’s not what u were looking for, and if you’ll need any help with the following code, just let me know, I hope I made them simple.

ok so what i need is when you touch somthing you move to the nest frame but i need a backgoud

making background won’t be hard. Make a new layer, have it be below the first layer (so it stays in the background), lock the main layer (so it doesn’t annoy u), and start painting, or insert a file image in the backgrounds layer. U could have an abstract background,colorful, or theme based background -it really depends on the project and ur creative view of it

(was that what u meant by “i need a background,” otherwise let me know)

i thot the background was affecting how the project worked so is trying to find a way around