How to link buttons to actions

Hi everyone,
I’m very new to Wick Editor and and am using V 1.19. I have not attempted scripting anything since the days of GW Basic and MS Dos and am struggling a bit.
I have made a wick file to try understanding the use of multiple buttons via mouseclick.
Ideally:-
Mouseclick a button for it to start a frame sequence from a given frame number then return to the start of the game (not to exit the game). Repeat this, clicking on a different button for it to start another frame sequence from another specific frame number further along the timeline then jump back to the start again.
Ultimately I hope for the cumulative clicks on different buttons to drive a counter, with some buttons set to increase the count and others set to reduce it.

I have an animated clip following the mouse. using this.x = mouseX; this.y = mouseY When the button is clicked this.x != mouseX; this.y != mouseY; is intended to break the link between clip and mouse but I had to create a duplicate clip for the tweening action I want.
The intention is for the clip character to jump from whichever button is clicked to bottom right of the screen. Currently it always reads the first frame sequence on the timeline, whichever button is clicked.

Now I’ve typed this up it looks like a big ask. I intended to attach my trial wick file, but cannot see how. Sorry if I’m asking for something previously covered in the forum but I couldn’t find relevant info.
Thanks
BAA1

Hello @BAA1 welcome to the forums!

Yes that is possible.

Instead of this.x = mouse.x …
Why not make it so the “character” coordinations will be the buttons coordinates

On the button MouseClick script: character.x = this.x; character.y = this.x

I didn’t really understand that much but if you have any questions feel free to ask more!

Thanks CosmicKnight1 for taking your time to reply.
I realise trying to unravel what is happening from my description must be nigh impossible.