Particle demo

please credit me if you use this! explore the code and make it the way you like it.

particle demo5-31-2020_4-36-07PM.wick (2.5 KB)

3 Likes

Hi @awc95014,

very nice! As I am still learning Wick, I cannot see where you put the script. How can I access the actuall script you call in the onClick of the button?

regards and respect!

Paul

Thank you @awc95014, this is great. I was trying to figure out space asteroids code and this looks perfect to get started. Many thanks. Greg

The code is in the green square, an off-screen particle thing, and the frame. Glad you all liked it :slight_smile:

I have a question. I looked at your code and I see the loop that clones the particle and creates new particles.
How can I detect collisions between particles? I can detect a collision between single objects by…
if(this.hitTest(particle2) ) {…}
but I cant see how I can detect a cloned particle collision without hard coding the particle numbers as above.
Thank you for your help. Greg

I dunno, I don’t test for collisions. I suppose you can make a for loop that names each particle something like par1, par2, par3, etc… by adding a number to “par” to make each variable, and storing the names in an array. then, for a collision, make a for loop iterating through the array of variable names and check collision for each one. Dunno what happens if you check one particle for a hitTest on itself, so you’d need to adjust for that.

2 Likes

I think you might be able to just add the hitTest code to the original object that’s being cloned, and every time it gets cloned, the code would be in the clones themselves . . .

2 Likes

Thank you @Hamzah_Al_Ani
I cant see how that works.
This is the particle code…I have hard coded it to detect particle2 which works, but how does it detect a cloned particle? What ID do I use? If I use particle it goes a bit mad as it thinks its collided with itself.

if(this.hitTest(particle2) ) {
this.xMove = this.xMove * -1;
this.yMove = this.yMove * -1;