Post-Jam Feedback: Scripting

I’m still compiling my feedback from the jam (I have a lot :smile: ) but I felt that the scripting workflow in particular could use some good discussion, so I’m posting my thoughts here. I’m really excited about how far Wick has come and its potential as a very robust animation and game development tool, and resolving the issues below would be an important step in realizing that. :slight_smile:

Note that I’m not a JavaScript expert, so please correct me if some of these are points are inaccurate or have alternate solutions.

In summary, the way Wick handles scope and context can be difficult to deal with.

• Functions defined like below in one code tab or one frame of a timeline should be accessible in others. They would attach to the parent clip, or root if there is none.

function foo () {
        console.log("hi!");
    }
    //in the next frame...
    foo(); //error

• Currently, I have to do this:

this.foo = function () {
          console.log("hi!");
      }
      this.foo();

• Functions sometimes refer to the wrong scope. In the example file ParentAndChild, there is a Clip named Clip and a child clip inside it.

• //ATTACHED TO ROOT TIMELINE
      //(OR ATTACHED TO THE PARENT CLIP ITSELF, SAME RESULT)
      Clip.foo = function () {
      	Clip.x += 100;
      }

• //INSIDE CHILD CLIP's TIMELINE
      this.parentClip.foo();
      //returns an error (Clip is not defined) because there is no
      //Clip called "Clip" around to increase the x value of.

• When I call this, I want it to run from Clip's scope, not its child’s scope. (Naming the parent clip something else doesn’t change the result.)

• Note that replacing the first snippet with this.foo = function () { this.x += 100; } and moving it to the Clip itself works as intended; the parent object shifts its position.