Roguelike demo

im working on making a roguelike game and I decided to post my progress here, maybe this might help someone with their games in the future. roguelike game demo11-3-2022_12-49-33.wick

wasd to move
mouse to aim
left click to use your weapon

Things to add:

1. inventory system
  2. wall collision
  3. enemies
  4. random generation
  5. loot boxes
  6. bosses
    (if you want to help let me know)
1 Like

I might be able to help a bit. I just discovered the wick editor though and want to find out, what it is capable of, but I am a flash and js veteran.

I don’t know how far you progressed since you posted this or if you are still working on it, but there are different ways to achieve what you want.
Very simple ones that work for just this exact type of level, or advanced ones, that gives you more power later on.

I would probably make use of a physics libary, like Box2D, which might look scary at first look, but gives very nice results.

So you would define your walls as static boxes(that cannot move) and the player and the enemies as a circle with a given size and mass and friction. Moving would mean applying a force to them. All a bit complex, but it also means that you get effects like pushed back by a stroke.

You can have magic projectiles that bounce of enemies for example and have all the logic and movement done by the engine.

The simple solution would be to all do this by hand.
Which is easy, but exhausting with the walls, so you can only move in one direction, if there is not alreay a wall.
So instead of simple

if (key === 'a') {
    this.x -= 5
}

We would have to check if it is a allowed move

if (key === 'a' && isPointAllowed({x:this.x-5, this.y}) {
    this.x -= 5
}

And the logic to work

var forbiddenAreas=[ {x:0,y:0,w:64,h:64*4},{x:64,y:0,w:64*3,h:64*2}]
function isPointAllowed(p){
	for(var i=0;i<forbiddenAreas.length;i++){
		if (isPointInRectangle(p,forbiddenAreas[i])
			return 1
	}
}

function isPointInRectangle(p,r){