Game Making tutorials

Hello, I am a high school teacher and due to virtual learning we are using Wick Editor for animations and game making. I’m all set with the animation tools but need help with creating simple games. Is there a website or tools (other than the tutorials in Wick) that I can use to start the course? Thank you.

1 Like

Hello teacher @aca405, welcome to the Wick Editor forums. Could you expand a little bit on what kind of help do you need to start a simple game? Do you need tech info, coding, or game theory. Meanwhile, there are several non-video tutorials within these forums that could help you out with the basics…

[1] Object/Clips Cloning.
https://forum.wickeditor.com/t/simple-clone-project-tutorial

[2] Platform Engine:

[3] Memory Game Tutorial:

1 Like

Wow, thank you. I’ll certainly check these out. We were using Game Maker 7 (IMAC) to create games but since the upgrade it was no longer available to us without purchasing. I was thrilled to find the Wick Editor; not only for the animation curriculum but also for game making.

I do have one more question: In Game Maker we can limit the object and not have it move outside of the stage. Can I do the same in Wick? Thank you again for the tutorial links.

you can limit movements of clips with javascripts
in the code editor —> project you can get project.width and project.height if you want to set limits at project borders or to any other calculated position inside them
I think there is no simple plug and play solution. you have to use js to code your game-

if you havent already done check section learn of wickeditor site

I used to use gamemaker before, it’s a good software. Here’s a simple code that can block the player from leaving the screen:

You can also find more tutorials here: #demos-and-tutorials

1 Like