Random radial gradient

Hi

I am new to Wick Editor and JavaScript.

From this post: https://forum.wickeditor.com/t/random-colors-shapes-in-js-in-wick/3960

I am trying to create a random radial gradient. However, it is not working.
This is what I have so far: radialGradient.wick (2.8 KB)

I also had a few questions in the post I pasted.
I would appreciate any suggestions.

I updated the code but still no luck. :four_leaf_clover:

radialGradientUpdate.wick (2.9 KB)

On mouseclick for my button : I did this code:
newColor = function (){
col=’#’+Math.floor(Math.random()*16777215).toString(16);
return col;
};

/* x0, y0: starting circle of gradient
r0: radius of start circle
x1, y1: endign circle of gradient
r2: radius of ending circle */

var gradientCol = createRadialGradient(100, 100, 50, 200, 200, 100);
gradientCol.addColorStop (0, newColor());"
gradientCol.addColorStop (1, “white”);

colorBall.activeFrame._children[0].fillColor=gradientCol;

I get an error message: Unexpected token ILLEGAL on line 11 in script “mouseclick”
I am not sure what this means.

It looks like you put an " at the end of the line by accident

But after you fix that you get an error about createRadialGradient not being defined.
From my understnading you are trying to use this function to create a gradient via HTML which I do not know much about. If you want to add a gradient using the createRadialGradient it looks like you need to do it from some kind of canvas context like how the link above shows.

Another way you could do this is using paper.js (Wick’s renderer)
To access the paper.js object you can use code like the below

CLIP_NAME.activeFrame._children[0].view.item

You can set the fillcolor to a straight color with something like this

CLIP_NAME.activeFrame._children[0].view.item.fillColor = "red";

You can also use an array representing RGB values like [0.8,0.4,0.2] which is the same as something like #cc6638 which also should work (not sure if it was with or without the #)