Wick Editor Overhaul Design Proposal (Revised)

This post has been revised.

Since the next version of Wick will be a code overhaul, I figured this would be a great time to share the design concepts I’ve been working on.

This is a loooong post. Many of these ideas are features I wish Flash or Unity had! Some may be a bit wonky since I’m relatively new to JavaScript compared to, say, animation or Unity’s C#, but I think the concepts behind them are solid.

:warning: Please note: I am NOT expecting or demanding that these changes be made exactly as I say. This is meant as a work-in-progress resource of ideas that Wick developers and contributors can pull from if they want. Not all of these ideas will be practical and they’re definitely open to being revised or not used. Enjoy!

Semantics

Here are some semantic changes I propose:

• Clips are now Sprites.
    • Buttons are Button Sprites.
    • The term “Clips” is a holdover from Flash, but as Movie Clips became more powerful, the name became a bit of a misnomer. They’re not just static animation clips, after all.
  • A keyframe can span over multiple frames and contain Tweens that have multiple points.
    • Consistent definitions would help new users understand the difference between frames, keyframes, and tweens. No more mix-ups such as “This frame is 10 frames long.”

Programming

I think Wick should integrate programming within the GUI itself (see below for details!) and some of these suggestions help facilitate that. Others are ease of use features.

Variables

Any variable declared like this:
var bool = true;
acts like a protected variable. It can only be accessed by a certain Sprite and its children.

Any variable declared like this:
public var bool = true;
acts like a public variable. It is also made visible in Wick’s GUI. It can be accessed anywhere like this:
objectname.bool
To hide it from Wick’s GUI but still leave it accessible for other objects, declare it like this:
public hidden var bool = true;